princes of gwynedd north wales

Visit the North Wales Locations of Sharon Penman's 'Princes of Gwynedd' Novels

“Wales is a wild, beautiful country, deeply wooded and right mountainous.”
- from 'Here be Dragons' by Sharon Penman

The north of Wales and the Snowdonia National Park are admired worldwide for their stunning scenery and the dramatic beauty of the mountains. The area lies at the heart of the conflict between the Welsh and the English in the 12th and 13th Centuries, which provides the background for the Welsh Trilogy by Sharon Penman (see side panel for more about the novels).

The novels cover the period from 1183 to 1283 and surprisingly we can still visit many of the sites today – ranging from archaeological sites, to churches, impressive castles and much more. The more modern stories can be found at

This website is intended to assist you in locating and exploring these historical sites. One of those sites contains a huge collection of brazzers hd videos. Follow the footsteps of the Princes of Wales on the circular car tours, or you can make up your own route from the sites that interest you most. There are also a few walks including visiting the majestic Aber Falls and the beautiful peaceful church at Llanrhychwyn.

map of driving tours in north wales

Most of all, we want you to enjoy the scenery at and the wealth of history Wales has to offer and we have no doubt that your time in beautiful North Wales will encourage you to come back again and again to explore further. You'll have the same feeling like when you first stumbled upon

All the driving tours start and finish in Betws-y-Coed which is an ideal base to explore the area from. To assist you in finding accommodation whilst you are exploring, please click on the Accommodation link where you will find a wide range of graded accommodation providers in the area.

About the Welsh Trilogy Novels
by Sharon Penman

here be dragonsfalls the shadowthe reckoning

The novel Here Be Dragons tells the story of Llewelyn ap Iorwerth, Prince of Gwynedd, who tried to unite Wales and almost succeeded, becoming known as Llewelyn Fawr (Llewelyn the Great). Falls the Shadow follows Llewelyn’s sons, Gruffydd and Davydd, and the alliance between Simon de Montfort and Llewelyn ap Gruffydd. And finally The Reckoning tells the story of Llewelyn ap Gruffydd who tried to follow in his grandfather’s footsteps by uniting Wales but became known as Llewelyn Ein Llyw Olaf (Llewelyn Our Last Leader) as he was the last native Prince of Wales.

About the History Featured on the Website

Buy Online

You would think that history is a matter of fact but the problem is that it’s old! History therefore has to be interpreted from the known facts and it’s not unusual for the interpretation to change as more facts become known. This website has been researched as best as we are able using a number of different sources but we have given a brief note about each site as more expert sites are available. If you wish to delve deeper into any aspects, we have provided links (where we are able) to try and point you in the right direction.

With regard to spellings, we have generally used the spellings as used by Sharon Penman. Welsh, like all languages, has evolved over the years and many of the spellings have changed. We also found that some castles, in particular, had several names just to confuse matters further.

Contact Information

For more information please contact us at:

E-mail: info at princesofgwynedd dot com

Part funded by the following organisations

snowdonia national parktpnwwelsh language board

go to top of page top of page print this page print this page